Rockwall ISD Education Foundation Fall 2015 Innovative Teaching Grant Recipients

The Rockwall ISD Education Foundation recently announced their Fall 2015 Innovative Teaching Grant Recipients. The group of award-winning recipients was recognized by the Rockwall ISD Board of Trustees during the November meeting. Grants Committee chairman, Shana Young, introduced the recipients who represented thirteen campuses and seventeen outstanding, innovative grants that will impact over 4,200 Rockwall ISD students. The group was collectively awarded $22,780.09 to cover concepts such as horticulture, engineering, fine arts, augmented reality and entrepreneurism. Board President Linda Mitchell Duran addressed the group, expressing the District’s appreciation for the teachers’ enthusiasm and dedication to offering such a valuable learning experience for their students.

The Rockwall ISD Education Foundation began their innovative teaching grant program in the spring of 2004 and have since awarded $441,375 for 267 grants to 750 teachers and impacted almost 66,000 RISD students. The Foundation is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) corporation.

Pictured in photo are:
Back Row: Bobby Fowler, Billy Fowler, Shannon Boulware, Robyn Gunderson, Schauna Callaway, Melissa Barnes, Lynne Milner, Gayle Kidd, Michael McMahon
Front Row: Cindy Tayem (Education Foundation, President), Jenny Kaup, Kay Orr, Dana Dean, Beverly LaPier, Allyssa Loya, Laura Shine, Debra Scott, Nicole Harvey, Yanelda Murillo, Theresa Chorba, Kenda Culpepper (Education Foundation Board Member), Shana Young (Education Foundation, VP-Awards & Grants)
Seated: Meredith King, Saraid Driskell and Rachael Taylor
Not Pictured: Michael Barineau, Janie Blackwell, Tenille Docampo, Marcus Edwards, Stacey Hawkins, Nancy Jacquez, Christina Lee, Kristin Marceau, Andy Mertens, Kip Muhl, Ursula Rakow, Katy Spaniel and Anna Winkley

Recent Updates