Rockwall High Earns National Yearbook Design Recognition


Rockwall High School’s yearbook, The Yellowjacket has been recognized for excellence and featured in the 2016 Jostens Look Book, celebrating the best-of-the-best in yearbook design and coverage. The Jostens Look Book is a collection of spreads and photos from outstanding yearbooks and their creative themes, cool covers, dazzling designs, relevant coverage, storytelling copy and action-packed photography. Along with design excellence, the annually published Look Book honors the important role well-crafted yearbooks play in helping schools chronicle the experiences, stories and achievements most relevant to students and that academic year.

The Yellowjacket was created by the 2015 yearbook staff comprised of Savannah Franks, Kinsey Jamison, Nina Patton, Claudia Tello, Olivia Cummings, Garrett Dennard, Haley Evans, Triniti Fisher, Jessica Hagan, Alex Hubenak, Jake Hyvl, Walker Knight, Emily Madle, Kacee Miller, Peyton Mills and Aubree Turner under the direction of Mrs. Jessica Applegate, RHS yearbook adviser.

The Yellowjacket was one of only 494 yearbooks selected from approximately 3,000. The 2016 panel of judges, comprised of nationally recognized scholastic journalism professionals and award-winning yearbook advisers, selected the best examples of yearbook spreads and covers to make up the 320-page 2016 Look Book.

“It was a wonderful surprise,” said Mrs. Applegate. “This is just the beginning of the great things to come from our yearbook staff.”

“Yearbooks are unique, limited edition books created by students to capture the stories and events for all of the school’s students and Jostens is proud to celebrate the yearbook tradition and the 494 yearbooks selected for the 2016 Jostens Look Book, said Gary Lundgren, editor. “Today’s yearbooks are very sophisticated in terms of visual presentation and the relevant and inclusive content that is featured.”

Mrs. Applegate and her yearbook staff received a copy of the 2016 Jostens Look Book and certificate from Jostens to recognize their outstanding achievement.

**Photograph of the 2016 Yearbook Staff. Left to right: Brittany Ables, Jacey Johnson, Claudia Tello, Nick Sanchez, Co-Editor Nina Patton, Grayson Green, Kathleen Marlett, Danite Mengesha, Alissa Martin, Morgan Richmond, Savannah Franks, Co-Editor Kinsey Jamison, Simon Nguyen, Sophia Acosta, Brette Thornton, Giao Nguyen and Mrs. Jessica Applegate

Recent Updates