Section 504

  • The Rehabilitation Act of 1973, commonly known in the schools as “Section 504,” is a federal law passed by the United States Congress with the purpose of prohibiting discrimination against disabled persons who may participate in, or receive benefits from, programs receiving federal financial assistance. In the public schools specifically, §504 applies to ensure that eligible disabled students are provided with educational benefits and opportunities equal to those provided to non-disabled students.

    Under §504, a student is considered “disabled” if he or she has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities. Section 504 also protects students with a record of an impairment, or who are regarded as having an impairment from discrimination on the basis of disability. Students can be considered disabled, and can receive services under §504, including regular or special education and related aids and services, even if they do not qualify for, or receive, special education services under the IDEA.

    Procedures are followed by a knowledgeable committee in making decisions regarding this federal law. To be eligible for Section 504 the committee must identify:

    • physical or mental impairment
    • substantial limitation
    • impact on educational performance

District Contact for Section 504

 Melanie Acker



Degrees and Certifications:

Melanie Acker

Director of 504 & Intervention Services
Click here to email

  •  Elementary Campus Coordinators:

    Amanda Rochell: Layla Sherrard

    Amy Parks Elementary: Danielle Patterson

    Billie Stevenson: Adrienne Hergert

    Celia Hays: Kasie Williamson

    Doris Cullins-Lake Pointe: Kelly Haack

    Dorothy Smith Pullen: Anjelika Marquis

    Dorris Jones: Lindy Lewis

    Grace Hartman: Jill Ebeling

    Howard Dobbs: Lori Bailey

    Linda Lyon: Jane Bruning

    Nebbie Williams: Marsha Welsh

    Ouida Springer: Laura Mejia

    Sharon Shannon: Katy Hill

    Virginia Reinhardt: Crystal Shaklee


    Secondary Campus Coordinators:

    Cain Middle School: Traci Songer & Kay Staes

    Utley Middle School: Amber Tyree

    Williams Middle School: Micke McMahon

    Gene Burton College & Career Academy: Bart Walters (contact who collaborates with home campuses)

    Quest Academy: Michele Jensen

    Rockwall High School: Heather Jones

    Rockwall Heath High School: Crystal Paul & Lisa Ware-Krantz