State of Texas Assessment Readiness (STAAR) information

  • The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in Spring 2012, includes annual assessments for

    • Reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
    • Writing at grades 4 and 7
    • Science at grades 5 and 8
    • Social studies at grade 8
    • End-of-Course (EOC) assessments for:
      • English I
      • English II
      • Algebra I
      • Biology
      • U.S history

    Students must pass each End-of-Course assessment to be eligible for graduation.

    Students must complete the foundation graduation plan to be elgibile for general admission to Texas public 4-year institutions of higher education and for financial aid.  The Distinguished Level of Achievement is required for automatic admission under the top ten percent rule.