Return to Headlines

Rockwall ISD Names 2019 Teacher of the Year Nominees

2019 Teacher of the Year - Press Release - Announcement


The Rockwall Independent School District is pleased to announce the 2019 Teacher of the Year nominees. Twenty-one teachers, one representing each campus, were selected by their peers and colleagues for the honor.

The district elementary and secondary Teacher of the Year will be selected from the group and announced at the Rockwall ISD Teacher of the Year Banquet on May 3. A number of local sponsors will help fund the event.


Members from the Rockwall Breakfast Rotary as well as previous Rockwall ISD Teachers of the Year serve on the selection committee. The committee reviews each teacher’s application and interviews nominees as part of the selection process.

The 2019 Rockwall ISD Teacher of the Year Nominees:

Amanda Rochell Elementary, Kirsten Maxcey

Amy-Parks Heath Elementary, Janice Longino

Billie Stevenson Elementary, Nicole Condor

Celia Hays Elementary, Julie Swann

Doris Cullins-Lake Pointe Elementary, Shelley Singleton

Dorothy Smith Pullen Elementary, Jackie Oxford

Dorris A. Jones Elementary, Katrina Tate

Grace Hartman Elementary, Terrell Langley

Howard Dobbs Elementary, Christine Esch

Linda Lyon Elementary, Jenny Kubiak

Nebbie Williams Elementary, Melony Stevens

Ouida Springer Elementary, Becky Riemenschneider

Sharon Shannon Elementary, Sarah Weaks

Virginia Reinhardt Elementary, Kim Acker

Herman E. Utley Middle School, Robert Erwin

J.W. Williams Middle School, Laura Shine

Maurine Cain Middle School, Christin Colden

Rockwall High School, Kyle Gilpin

Rockwall-Heath High School, Shannon Carmody

Quest Academy, Cameron Gipson

Dr. Gene Burton College & Career Academy, Michelle Rester

toy graphic-01